Recent Reviews

Gena (1)

21st Amendment Brewery Cafe

2023-08-15 03:50:52

America Jackets is here for you to get in trend with amazing outfits and style. This is the best platform for you to shop online anytime, anywhere.
https://www.americajackets.com/halloween-clothing-doesnt-have-to-be-hard-check-our-ravishing-apparels/

Selection: 5.00 | Atmosphere: 5.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: N/A
100.0
Overall

helenferguson (1)

Square Barrels

2023-07-21 11:21:43

Great place to enjoy

Selection: 5.00 | Atmosphere: 4.50 | Service: 5.00 | Food: N/A
96.7
Overall

Beer Grokker (8)

Draughtsmen Aleworks

2022-10-30 14:15:32

Draughtsman has some good beers and they like to experiment every once in awhile.
This is their satellite location (no brewing here - the brewery is located in Goleta, about 7 miles west).
The owner is a great guy, contributes to the community by making special beers where part of the profit goes back to the community.
Good variety of types of beer from lager to stout.
It's a small, but comfortable place to hang out on the main drag in downtown Santa Barbara.

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 4.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: N/A
86.7
Overall

Beer Grokker (8)

Las Positas Liquor

2022-10-30 14:03:46

Excellent selection of aged beers - primarily because they sit on the shelf for awhile. Apparently, not many beer aficionados in this neighborhood.

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 5.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: N/A
93.3
Overall

Annamodel (1)

Bad Beat Brewing Company

2022-02-16 10:24:13

All is good! Thx

Selection: 5.00 | Atmosphere: 5.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: N/A
100.0
Overall

Nezbit27 (13)

49th State Craft Brewing Company

2021-08-22 12:19:33

Best place of any kind in town to get a beer and dinner. Great menu, wonderful service, even with a smaller staff, and very good beer. Also make their own pop/soda. Try the root beer, very good. All styles for all tastes while we were there. Even got two croakers to go.

Selection: 5.00 | Atmosphere: 5.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: 5
100.0
Overall

Nezbit27 (13)

Anchorage Brewing Company

2021-08-22 12:16:03

If they tell you they have food, they probably don’t. We went expecting to be able to have dinner and they had sold out earlier in the day. This is after an email asking about it in advance and then insisting they had great food available. Also, if you are trying to get any one of their really great top of the line beers, they don’t have them at the location. Beer is good, but talk about a serious disappointment.

Selection: 3.50 | Atmosphere: 4.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: N/A
83.3
Overall

washoehomebrewer (101)

Bennidito's Brewpub

2021-07-27 13:28:01

This is a newer Brewery not far from Downtown. The beers were all good and they had several IPA’s and hazys. The food was really good and they have a varied menu with lots of pizza options. I took my family of 6 adults on our way into Montana as we stopped for lunch on our way and everyone was happy with the food as well as the beer. The Spokane craft beer scene has grown quite a bit and i highly recommend this brewpub.

Selection: 4.50 | Atmosphere: 4.00 | Service: 4.25 | Food: 4.50
85.0
Overall

tunegururingtone (1)

Wild Tymes

2021-07-27 12:07:45

good

Selection: 4.75 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Service: 5.00 | Food: 4.75
93.3
Overall

Dellick2004 (1)

Four Seasons Brewing Co.

2021-07-08 13:28:00

Definitely worth the stop if you're in the Latrobe area! This brewery has flavorful and interesting ales, a nice outdoor area that is dog-friendly, and great staff. My only negative is that the food the brewery serves is very basic (cheap hot dogs, dry pretzels with beer cheese) but they often have food trucks to pick up the slack where the food options are concerned. Two big thumbs up for Four Seasons!

Selection: 5.00 | Atmosphere: 4.75 | Service: 5.00 | Food: 3.00
98.3
Overall

mkiester (24)

Dodgeton Creek Brewing Company

2021-05-22 17:11:54

This brewery is CLOSED and moved to Dumas, Tx

Selection: 5.00 | Atmosphere: 5.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: N/A
100.0
Overall

HOMEiA (1)

Maxwell's American Cafe And Pub

2021-05-20 23:21:44

I prefer this restaurant a lot. there is a very special ambiance. The food is marvelous. the service is dynamic and the crew is friendly. The pay is fair. profoundly recommend.

Selection: 4.50 | Atmosphere: 4.75 | Service: 5.00 | Food: 5
95.0
Overall

Egafood Indonesia (1)

Root Bar #1, The

2021-01-20 02:32:48

Root Bar #1 is the nicest place I've been. Lots of delicious food and drinks that we can enjoy

Selection: 5.00 | Atmosphere: 5.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: N/A
100.0
Overall

joelswift (1)

Eureka Heights Brewing Company

2020-10-29 13:39:58

Awesome year-'round beers, including two GABF gold medal winners (Buckle Bunny Cream Ale and Wicket Awesome ESB.) Also lots of brewery-only releases spanning all types of styles, including rotating hazy bois.

Beer to go in 32-oz crowlers, four-packs, and six-packs. Bring a growler and they'll fill it.

Prior to COVID, food trucks would provide snacks, but now Kortex BBQ provides Korean-Texan fusion BBQ. The food is awesome!
https://www.facebook.com/kortexbbq/

Eureka Heights is family-friendly. Lots of smiling faces from the bartenders, and everything is kept clean, which is appreciated in the dumpster fire that we're calling 2020.

Selection: 5.00 | Atmosphere: 5.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: 5
100.0
Overall

Brad (132)

Parleaux Beer Lab

2020-03-05 13:13:04

This is a great little brewery and taproom in the Bywater neighborhood of New Orleans. Its about a mile outside of the extreme silliness of the French Quarter. Several of the neighboring streets are lined with beautiful homes that have been restored after Katrina. They have about a dozen drafts, plus cans & growler fills. The selection leans more toward sours than the stereotypical lineup of big IPAs that seems to be the current trend. That said, I tried their one IPA and their Brown Porter. Both were very enjoyable.

No food, but youre welcome to bring your own. Occasional food trucks. Very dog & kid friendly. A true neighborhood joint. Leave the amateur drunks on the Quarter and head here.

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 4.75 | Service: 4.75 | Food: N/A
90.0
Overall

rickc (1)

Phoenix Brewing Company

2020-03-04 04:40:41

This brewpub has just been renamed the Phoenix Brewing Company (March 1, 2020). Celebrity chef Gordon Ramsey led the renovation of the formerly named Ellicott Mills Brewing Company, and the story behind this effort will be part of a two-hour special episode of his show "24 Hours to Hell and Back" about the recovery of Old Ellicott City that will air on May 12, 2020. The long time brewery has merged with a restaurant (Phoenix Emporium) that was hit by serious floods in 2016 and 2018.

https://www.wbaltv.com/article/phoenix-brewing-co-new-to-ellicott-city-but-roots-run-deep-main-street/31210251

Please note that the rating stats are for previous visits and will be updated once the new operation is more established.

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 5.00 | Service: 4.25 | Food: N/A
88.3
Overall

Brad (132)

Amelia Tavern Restaurant & Brewpub

2020-02-12 15:18:39

First, a bit of clarification. The names Amelia Tavern, Amelia Tavern Restaurant & Brewpub and Amelia Island Brewing Company all seem to be used interchangeably to refer to the same spot, which had me a bit confused at first. They have about a dozen of their own, brewed on site, plus a full range of wines, liquors & cocktails for the non-beer drinkers. I had the Jolene New England IPA and the Sarbi Mocha American Porter, both of which I enjoyed. Fish & chips was good. The atmosphere is an open loft-loft refurbished industrial space, with good acoustics. They host beer-centric events (for example a Rare Beer Festival) that promote craft brewing. If I ever make it back to Amelia Island, I will be sure to stop by for another visit.

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Service: 4.25 | Food: 4.00
83.3
Overall

Brad (132)

Zephyrhills Brewing Company

2020-02-10 12:29:54

25 of their own drafts including 4 Imperial Stouts. I tried the Sunshine IPA and two Imperial Stouts. Two were outstanding. The Peppermint Chocolate Stout had a lot of peppermint! Another 25 guest bottles, including many Belgians and other rarities. Located in a storefront on main drag in Zephyrhills. No food but a rotating set of food trucks. My only real complaint was that during our weeknight visit, last call came at 9:45! Great location in an area with few other craft beer choices. We will return.

Selection: 4.50 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Service: 4.25 | Food: N/A
86.7
Overall

Brad (132)

Phyre Brewery and Tavern

2020-02-10 12:14:22

Im not really fond of Florida, the land of continuous strip malls. However, Phyre is a great little joint. For starters, its located in the old, quiet part of St Cloud, but still close to several of Floridas innumerable highways, making it easy to get in & out. They opened in June 2019. Their web site says they are, a vintage pin up themed, in house Nano Brewery & Craft Tavern. Lots of pictures from that era. Seven of their own drafts and maybe another half dozen guest drafts on the menu. I tried their Porter & IPA both good. Cans & growlers to go. Three short blocks off US 192 and a world away.

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Service: 4.00 | Food: 4.25
81.7
Overall

Brad (132)

Green Room Brewing

2020-02-10 11:45:31

Nice little place on the main drag in Jacksonville Beach. About 15 of their own beers on tap. I had the West Coast style Head High IPA. Solid beer with no obvious flaws. Good selection of guest wines & ciders for the non-beer drinkers. Very dog & kid friendly. Foosball & ping pong in the back. No food, but you can bring your own. Overall a nice respite from the mass-market-beer pushing restaurant chains that seem to dominate Florida.

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 3.75 | Service: 4.25 | Food: N/A
80.0
Overall

Brad (132)

Dead Lizard Brewing Company

2020-01-22 07:43:57

Great joint. 12-13 on tap; plenty more to go. Outdoor seating. Located in an industrial area, not really in walking distance of anything (unless you work in the area). Games. Laid back. Exactly what a taproom should be. I had an IPA and Porter; both solid. Popcorn & other pub snacks. Sign on door encourages people to ring if taproom is closed. If they are working in the brewery they will come out to sell you a few to go.

Selection: 4.25 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Service: 4.50 | Food: N/A
86.7
Overall

wisatalombok (1)

Burial Beer Co

2020-01-08 00:23:19

Burial Beer Co very good place, you can together with family or freind

Selection: 5.00 | Atmosphere: 5.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: N/A
100.0
Overall

rentbusjkt (1)

Il Vicino Wood Oven Pizza and Brewery

2019-12-17 04:01:26

the place awesome, i like this place. my family come here for eating.

Selection: 5.00 | Atmosphere: 5.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: N/A
100.0
Overall

emerge077 (359)

Kulminator

2019-12-10 09:03:20

This is a magical place, truly unlike any other on the planet. Surreal and potentially maddening to some, its best to approach in a relaxed frame of mind and just roll with it. Only on the second day we visited, on a rainy weekday, did the peaceful quiet atmosphere lend itself to a beer epiphany. This was truly the best place in the world to contemplate a really special beer. The atmosphere is on the eccentric side, and many of the beers are really old. If that doesnt appeal, approach with an open mind or seek elsewhere.

A hall of wonders awaits inside the doors, past faded beer signs, teddy bears, ancient plants, dim reading room lighting, bookshelves piled with books, games, and stacks of "things". A very pleasant garden patio in back when theres no chain smoking going on. You will meet locals and international beer travelers alike, first night we met people from Italy, Taiwan, UK, & US. I even met a guy that used to live just a few blocks away from me, oddly enough.

So many beers, so many vintages. Hard to keep them all straight, but trust the experts, as they innovated beer cellaring back in the 70's. Draft Oud Beersel lambics (rhubarb, oude lambiek) are a great place to start. Beyond that, there's no way to detail the sheer volume what's available here. Certainly an endless supply of vintage trappists and strong ales, plus good representation of lambic.

There *is* food available, buried in the beer bible is a page of assorted snacks including dry sausages, cheese plates, nuts, etc.

Leen is truly an angel, cheerful and patient, also an expert in the art of beer pouring. Dirk may be a little cranky, but id imagine its a put-on to avoid chatting with insufferable beer nerds. I brought them a can of Rev Straight Jacket, which seemed to be very well received. Expect to wait outside to be buzzed in, specify you are there to taste beer, and bring cash. Another protip: order at the bar. Relax and enjoy is the mantra.

Mysterious wonders such as this must be experienced firsthand. Id encourage a visit sooner than later, as next year they are further limiting their opening hours. Long live the Kulminator.

2020: The hours are permanently changing to Monday-Friday from 11am - 7pm.

Selection: 5.00 | Atmosphere: 5.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: 5.00
100.0
Overall

mairutokok77 (1)

Blue Star Brewing Company

2019-10-30 04:54:54

Just had our wedding here and we must say the attention to detail that Chris and his staff put forth was nothing less than spectacular

Selection: 5.00 | Atmosphere: 5.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: N/A
100.0
Overall

Paul Bonfigli (1)

2nd Street Brew House

2019-10-20 09:55:01

2nd Street is listed here on BeerMapping as a brewery with a red location marker - its actually a bar and should be marked yellow.

Lots of beer selection - crafts from not just Penn but a number of other states. About a dozen on tap, and a large selection of cans and bottles.

Interiors a bit dark, but, hey, its a bar, right? Foods regular bar food, which works to soak up all the beer!

Selection: 4.75 | Atmosphere: 3.00 | Service: 4.00 | Food: 3.75
78.3
Overall

Brad (132)

Revision Brewing Company

2019-10-18 12:29:42

Im not sure if I caught Revolution during a special event, but the draft count on my visit was 23 IPAs and an Imperial Stout. They were divided into regular IPAs, Double, Imperial, New England and West Coast IPAs. I tried the Spiritual Gangster New England IPA and the Revision IPA. Both were solid. This is a laid-back taproom adjunct to a working brewery. Must be 21 to enter, but they are pet friendly. No food beyond snacks, but they are happy to let people bring in their own food.

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Service: 4.00 | Food: N/A
81.7
Overall

Brad (132)

Courtyard Brewery

2019-10-07 12:18:05

One of my favorites. Three dozen drafts, mostly their own Some interesting guest beers too. Every beer I have tried has been solid. Great tunes (including vinyl!). Games. Food trucks. Indoor & outdoor seating. Very dog & kid friendly. Extremely laid-back vibe. Currently located on a nondescript side street, in the Lower Garden District, almost under the Pontchartrain Expressway but I understand they plan to relocate within the neighborhood next year. An Uber driver once told me, You must really know the local beer scene to have found this place.

Selection: 4.75 | Atmosphere: 4.75 | Service: 4.25 | Food: N/A
91.7
Overall

Brad (132)

Duque Brewpub

2019-10-07 08:29:12

A wonderful little brewpub located on a stairway / alley about two blocks outside of the Bairro Alto neighborhood. About 10 drafts and 50 bottles. I would guess that 5 of the drafts and 10 of the bottles were their own and the rest were guest beers. Small interior. Another 10 or so tables outside. On our second visit people were hanging out on the alley stairs. Great tunes in the background. Wi-Fi. Limited snacks. Great environment for a couple pints (actually 40cl pours) before or after dinner.

Selection: 4.75 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Service: 4.25 | Food: N/A
88.3
Overall

Brad (132)

The Beer Station

2019-10-07 08:27:40

They claim 50 craft beers. I would estimate thats about 10 drafts and 40 bottles. Nothing but craft beers. No imports and no national brands. The inside is very small and cozy, but they have ample outdoor seating. The location is just outside of the Rossio metro station (Google Maps erroneously showed the location inside the station). I tried two American IPAs: Urraca Vendaval from Oitava and Trindade Profana from Hoppy House Brewing. Both were good.

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 4.00 | Service: 4.25 | Food: N/A
81.7
Overall

Brad (132)

The Lord Nelson Pub

2019-10-07 08:24:19

This is a quintessential British pub. Its not really a craft beer experience. It has a full lineup of the major brands, including Old Speckled Hen, Guinness Stout, Kilkenny Irish Red, Heineken, etc. So why bother submitting a review? Its a great respite from the crowds in touristy Gibraltar. There is no craft brewing in Gibraltar, so the choices are somewhat limited. If you find yourself in desperate need of a pint while the rest of your party continues shopping on main street, this is an excellent spot. Locals watching sports on satellite TV at the bar; fish & chips. Great oasis even if the beer selection is limited.

Selection: 2.00 | Atmosphere: 4.00 | Service: 4.00 | Food: 4.00
66.7
Overall

Brad (132)

Central Beers Craft Beer

2019-10-07 08:22:00

Really a restaurant specializing in a large beer selection. Probably two dozen drafts and several dozen cans and bottles which they happily sell as take-away for off premises consumption. Its in a bit of a touristy area, so pricing probably reflects the neighborhood. That said, I bought 3 craft bottles and a can for under 20. Most of their business seems to be as a sit-down restaurant, but I was very happy to secure four new beers for later enjoyment.

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 3.50 | Service: 4.25 | Food: N/A
78.3
Overall

Brad (132)

Beershooter

2019-10-07 08:20:00

This is what I would call a beer bottle store with half a dozen or so drafts for tasting and growler fills. Probably a hundred different bottles organized into groups by import, Spanish national and local craft. They also have some ciders & meads. The bar had only 5 or 6 seats. The general pattern seemed to be tasting a few drafts while contemplating which craft bottles to buy and consumer home (or in my case smuggle onto a ship).

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 3.50 | Service: 4.00 | Food: N/A
76.7
Overall

Brad (132)

Skagway Brewing Co

2019-10-07 08:14:53

This is a delightful gem; a real surprise. I had low expectations, assuming that this was simply brewing as a novelty to attract tourists. We were wrong. We tried the Spruce Tip Ale (with a pleasant essence of spruce; unlike some Lysol-ed beers that Ive tried), the Chilkoot Trail IPA and the Blue Top Porter. They were all solid and within the style guidelines. Full food menu. Great atmosphere. Several joints in the region made it clear that they were happy to take money from tourists, but really found them kind of annoying. Not the case here. I wont go as far as saying we were treated like locals, but we were welcomed. I will return if we go back to Skagway.

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 4.00 | Service: 3.00 | Food: N/A
73.3
Overall

laxroberts30 (1)

Xicha Brewing Co.

2019-10-05 20:28:33

great beer

Selection: 5.00 | Atmosphere: 5.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: 5
100.0
Overall

Brad (132)

Druthers Brewing

2019-09-23 12:47:09

This is a nice place to grab a beer if you can get a seat. We stopped by on a Saturday at 3:00 and it was a 20-minute wait for any indoor or outdoor seating. On one hand, Im always happy to see a brewery or brewpub do well. On the other hand, bachelorette parties do not have a positive effect on the atmosphere, at least in my opinion. I have a certain fondness for pubs & taprooms with acoustics that enable conversations.

On my visit they had about ten of their own beers on tap. Nothing particularly dark or big. I had several All-In IPAs, which were fine. The location is right on Broadway. Google Maps is a little confusing. Full food menu. Dog, kid and bachelorette friendly.

Selection: 3.75 | Atmosphere: 2.50 | Service: 3.75 | Food: N/A
66.7
Overall

Brad (132)

The Salt House

2019-09-18 14:50:39

A beer bar with a great attitude. They claim to be the only bar in Galway that refuses to serve Guinness. Over 20 taps and over 100 bottles. Owned by craft brewer Galway Bay Brewing. Knowledgeable staff; board games; comfy seating. One of the taps was Left Hand Milk Stout, which is great, but not widely distributed in Ireland. Turns out that the owners are friends and somehow periodically trade kegs. A bunch of great restaurants within a couple of blocks. A must visit before or after dinner.

Selection: 4.75 | Atmosphere: 4.75 | Service: 4.25 | Food: N/A
91.7
Overall

Brad (132)

Craft Barcelona

2019-09-18 09:35:05

Fantastic respite in the old Gothic Quarter (which is beautiful but very touristy). They call themselves a beer, food & music bar. 14 or so drafts, 50 or so bottles. Interesting pricing packages such as 3 beers & 3 tapas for 15. Beer & tapas make a great combination. Live music or comedy in the basement. I tried the Roses de Llobregat extra strong bitter, which was good. It was easily the best beer bar that we found in the Gothic Quarter.

Selection: 4.25 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Service: 4.00 | Food: N/A
83.3
Overall

Brad (132)

del Mn beershop

2019-09-18 09:33:10

Palma de Mallorca is a very vacation and retiree-oriented location. Most of the venues I found had beer choices limited to the major national Spanish brands, especially the ubiquitous Estrella Damm light lager. The del Mn Beershop focuses on Spanish regional craft beers, although they do have some imports. If youre in the mood for something beyond Estrella, this is a great choice for craft bottles. Organized by regions & styles. Across the street from the central market.

Selection: 3.75 | Atmosphere: 3.00 | Service: 4.00 | Food: N/A
71.7
Overall

Brad (132)

Ale&Hop

2019-09-18 09:31:22

Tiny bar with an eclectic choice of drafts and bottles, including several aged beers. The proprietor knows beer and hunts for interesting finds. About a dozen total drafts, several of which you will likely never heard of. I tried a Protocol of Haze New England Pale from Russias Zagovor brewery (very good) and a 12% Even More Death Imperial Stout from Northern Monk (fantastic). Almost a half mile out of the beautiful but touristy Gothic Quarter. We did not see any DSLR-toting tourists. Make a point of visiting. No Bud or Michelob here!

Selection: 4.50 | Atmosphere: 4.50 | Service: 4.75 | Food: N/A
91.7
Overall

Brad (132)

BlackLab Brewhouse & Kitchen

2019-09-18 09:29:51

A very pleasant craft brewery and restaurant very near the water in Barcelona. I tried the Claudia IPA and the Terraplane Robust Porter. Both very good. A total of about 15 drafts plus another half dozen cans. No guest beers that I could see. Full menu. Outdoor seating. Very family & dog friendly. I hate to stereotype, but it seemed to me that the tourists all head to the nearby faux Irish pubs and chain restaurants while BlackLab had many more locals. Worth a stop.

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 4.00 | Service: 3.00 | Food: N/A
73.3
Overall

mkiester (24)

Black Doubt Brewing

2019-08-31 18:04:01

This is the other brewery n Mammoth, Ca.

The most popular beers are the Hopduction hazy IPA. A good but no nose, but bitterness/ malt is balanced well. The second popular beer is peanutbutter the imperial stout. And it is on target but at 11%.

The place seats about 50, is comfortably lighted, smooth music, dog friendly and pretty laid back.

I would repeat this place.

Mike

Selection: 4.50 | Atmosphere: 4.50 | Service: 4.00 | Food: N/A
86.7
Overall

Brad (132)

Dunloe Brewing

2019-08-30 10:51:59

Laid back taproom literally on the other side of the Amtrak tracks in Davis. 8 beers on tap. I believe they were priced at $5/pint, which is better than many places Ive visited recently. I tried the Sunshine Highway IPA, which was very good. Food trucks on some days (schedule is not real clear). Several casks. Outdoor seating. Very family & dog friendly. Lots of board games. Cans to go. I would characterize Dunloe as a quintessential neighborhood brewpub. Its at the opposite end of the spectrum from the big corporate brewpubs (Granite City, Gordon Biersch, etc.)

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 4.00 | Service: 4.25 | Food: N/A
81.7
Overall

Brad (132)

Three Mile Brewing Co

2019-08-30 10:50:23

The strong appeal here is the central location in downtown Davis. Its definitely a happening place for the post-work happy hour crowd. 12 of their own, mostly trending towards lighter beers and IPAs. I believe 4 of the 12 were IPAs. No porters or stouts. I tried the Group Hug IPA. It was good although there was a strong yeast taste. Outdoor seating. Very kid & dog friendly. No food, but there are lots of restaurants nearby and they appear very accommodating to bring-your-own food.

Selection: 3.75 | Atmosphere: 3.75 | Service: 4.00 | Food: N/A
76.7
Overall

mkiester (24)

Bonsai Brewing Project

2019-08-22 14:51:02

Most popular beer is Lil Blone Honey, a cloudy coor knock off. Has NO note of Honey any where. $4.50 12 oz. second most popular is the American Brown ale. Ok.

Staff is attentive, outside seating is pleasant, music is upbeat and 1:30 clientele are regulars.

I sampled 2 IPA asking for malt balance, both failed, had little hope noise, Due North ( Red IPA) had good lingering after hop taste.

Over all a good Place but a 3 star beer place. I put this to a cowboy culture and unsophisticated clientele.

Mike

Selection: 4.50 | Atmosphere: 4.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: 4.50
90.0
Overall

mkiester (24)

Bonsai Brewing Project

2019-08-22 14:51:02

Most popular beer is Lil Blone Honey, a cloudy coor knock off. Has NO note of Honey any where. $4.50 12 oz. second most popular is the American Brown ale. Ok.

Staff is attentive, outside seating is pleasant, music is upbeat and 1:30 clientele are regulars.

I sampled 2 IPA asking for malt balance, both failed, had little hope noise, Due North ( Red IPA) had good lingering after hop taste.

Over all a good Place but a 3 star beer place. I put this to a cowboy culture and unsophisticated clientele.

Mike

Selection: 4.50 | Atmosphere: 4.00 | Service: 5.00 | Food: 4.50
90.0
Overall

Brad (132)

Grill House, The

2019-08-21 10:47:03

This is a neighborhood burger bar in Redwood City. They have about 20 taps, mostly locals, and another 10 - 15 bottles and cans. Several of the drafts are not widely distributed. I'm thinking in particular of Russian River Pliny the Elder, which is great.

This area, on the northeast side of 101, moves at a slower pace than the rest of the Bay Area. The Grill House is a great spot to hit if you're in the area (for example walking from the Pullman Hotel), but the broader Bay Area has so many interesting choices that I'm not sure I would go out of my way to visit.

Selection: 4.00 | Atmosphere: 3.00 | Service: 4.00 | Food: 3.50
73.3
Overall

Brad (132)

True Respite Brewing

2019-08-12 09:12:15

Very family & dog friendly. Perhaps 20 of their own on tap (certainly more than are listed on their website). All sorts of board & video games. A bit of an attitude (Francis Stout Key American Stout, brewed with bald eagle tears and a few concentrated drops of freedom). No food, but apparently food trucks during peak hours. Several groups brought in their own food or had food delivered during our visit. I tried the Week Away Hazy IPA. It was solid with no obvious flaws.

Selection: 4.25 | Atmosphere: 3.75 | Service: 4.00 | Food: N/A
80.0
Overall

Brad (132)

Chesepiooc Real Ale Brewery

2019-08-12 09:10:05

In an industrial park, not really near anything walkable. 16 regular taps, 1 nitro and 8 casks with real beer engines. A couple of TVs with sports. No food, but apparently food trucks during peak hours. Several groups brought their own food during our visit. I tried the Here Comes the Sun New England IPA. It was very pleasant and fit the style. Our group tried probably half a dozen with no complaints on any. My only real frustration was that during our visit they had one server doing his best to take care of everyone.

Selection: 4.25 | Atmosphere: 3.75 | Service: 3.00 | Food: N/A
73.3
Overall

washoehomebrewer (101)

Golden Road Brewing

2019-08-09 13:19:02

This is a fairly big brewery with a large bar area. The first beer I had was their Wolf pup session Ipa. This beer has a fruity hoppy aroma, hazy straw color and a lite malty flavor. This is a really good session IPA and at the end of all the tasting I ordered a pint of this beer. The next beer I had was their Point the Way IPA. This beer is more malty than hoppy in both aroma and flavor. It has a slight citrusy flavor, but not as much piney or citrusy than they say on their menu. The next beer I had was their Hopping and weaving American IPA. This beer has a lite hoppy aroma followed by litr hoppy flavor. The color is straw and hazy and it has a lite citrusy aspect. The next beer i tried was their Wolf Among Weeds imperial IPA. This beer is more like a big West Coast IPA with floral notes and a big malt backbone. The next beer was their Wolf Mother Triple IPA. This beer had big malt and alcohol and some moderate fruitiness, but like most double and triple IPA they are low in aroma. Afet rall these beers I had an angus hamburger that was good and my friend had a Turkey club and both were very good. Before we left the nie bartender Christy gave us a sample of their Murican wheat which was a very good wheat beer. It had an earthy wheaty aroma, straw color, slightly sweet grainy malt. My friend ordered a pint of this for his last beer while I had the session IPA. Christy bought us our last beer and told us that it was the breweries policy to buy a beer for beer travelers like us. What a great gesture. They also had several glassware options for sale and brewery logo coasters. Well worth the stop if you are in the Area.

Selection: 4.75 | Atmosphere: 4.50 | Service: 5.00 | Food: 4.50
95.0
Overall