Flossmoor Station Restaurant and Brewery     see this location on a map


show map and other infosee images
Show list of all locations within a 1 | 5 | 10 | 15 | 20 | 25 | 50 mile radius                                        Post to Twitter
official site flossmoorstation.blogspot.com

Flossmoor Station Restaurant and Brewery
1035 Sterling Ave
Flossmoor, IL 60422
(708) 957-BREW

latitude: 41.543228
longitude: -87.678635
City Information Page Chicago Information Page
Printer Friendly View

overall average: 89.03


this location has wifi availableWifi Available | this location has cask availableCask Beer | this location does not allow indoor smokingIndoor Smoking | this location has adequate parkingAvailable Parking
this location is close to public transportationPublic Transit | this location uses proper glasswareProper Glassware | this location has outdoor seatingOutdoor Seating | this location is family friendlyFamily Friendly
Value: Moderate
Averaged from 12 reviews.

get an informational widget for your blog or site get a map for your blog or site
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 4.25 | Service: 4 | Atmosphere: 4 | Food: 4.0
emerge077's (340) view emerge077's forum profile send emerge077 a private message Overall Score: 81.7 this is the low score for this location

10/07
Finally made it out to Flossmoor on the way out of Chicago. Next time I may take the Metra, and hang out for awhile.

We arrived on a Friday night, and the place was packed. Luckily there was a ton of seating and we didn't have to wait. The side room we were in wasn't as densely decorated or quaint as the front area when you walk in. There was nice lighting, wooden booths along the wall, and many tables in the center. Historical train line construction photos lined the walls.

Beer wise, I had a Black Moon Rye-sin, a Zikade Weisse, and a 5-beer sampler. The Panama Limited Red was one of their regular offerings, and jumped out at me as the best candidate to get a growler of. Sadly Rot Geist was no longer on, but i've had plenty of it at the Map Room. Make more guys!

In terms of food, they have an extended menu, some tex-mex, sandwich specialties, and soups/salads. My Ruben "hot tub" bread bowl was tasty, just cut it in half and ate it like a deli sandwich. The gf's California-style veggie burrito was easily 3 lbs. of non-meat and pretty filling. Can't wait to check it out again, and pick up some 22 oz. bottles in the future!
reviewed on: 2010-06-04 19:45:54 this review is based off of 2 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 4 | Service: 4.25 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Food: 3.75
decoman's (58) view decoman's forum profile send decoman a private message Overall Score: 83.3

I am not sure why I have not reviewed this place as I have been to it numerous times...

As mentioned FS is at a real live train station which makes it quite unique place and restaurant.

The Beer, the have a regular line up which consists of many session beers which I have found over the years to be average at best.

There have been several brewers, and each have left there imprint on the seasonal and special beers, I was pretty found of brewer Matt's seasonal offerings. Matt has since moved on to a brewery in OR.

They do bottle three of there beers, and the IPA is bottled thru out the year and changes which each brewing. They are have special release beers the get bottled as well.

Two beers that have stood out for me are Anno Unum (sp) a sour ale by Matt, and "The Turk" a saison by current brewer Brian.

Food menu hasn't change over the years, pretty standard pub fare with daily specials, I have not really felt there menu was stellar and thought it could be improved or updated, IMO

Also noted that during Bears games during the season they have a free half time buffet, which is good...

Certainly a staple on the Chicago area brew scene and a must stop!
reviewed on: 2010-06-02 20:48:17 this review is based off of 10 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 4.25 | Service: 4.25 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Food: 4.0
jackofallbrews's (104) view jackofallbrews's forum profile send jackofallbrews a private message Overall Score: 85.0

I took a trip from the City to visit this well-recieved brewpub last fall.

The food was very good, slightly upscale brewpub fare. All those who ordered food were happy.

I got the mega-beer sampler and tried them all. Overall, these were good beers, only the Cherry wheat was not to my liking. I enjoyed all the beers, but only the bourbon stout was a true stand-out for me. I felt that the beers at Goose Island were much better, having just been there the day prior. This place is certainly worth a visit.
reviewed on: 2010-06-02 14:50:32 this review is based off of one visit
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 5 | Service: 5 | Atmosphere: 5 | Food: 5.0
jengregory66's (7) view jengregory66's forum profile send jengregory66 a private message Overall Score: 100.0 this is the high score for this location

This is the "gold standard" by which we compare all other brewpubs. It is one of my absolute favorites. The IPAs are probably their best beer but if they don't have one on when you visit, the Red is a great next choice. Their Stouts and Porters have never disappointed either. (Killer Wood and Milky Way Stout are a few favorites). I'm not a huge Golden Ale or Brown fan but I know people who think Flossmoor's are very good.

The food is also outstanding. Nachos and chips and salsa are my favorites although the fried mini brie cheese always looks so good when it comes out of the kitchen.

It is a meal in and of itself but don't miss the white bean chicken chili. In the mood for a salad? The California Cobb is outstanding. The burger is always good but make sure to ask for the sweet potato fries. They rock!
reviewed on: 2010-04-29 15:37:28 this review is based off of 10 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 5 | Service: 4.75 | Atmosphere: 4.5 | Food: 4.5
toejamn's (7) view toejamn's forum profile send toejamn a private message Overall Score: 95.0

This is one of, if not my favorite brewpubs. I'm in the area once a week and try to make it a ritual after work stop.They always have their house staples, 6 in all, ranging in styles ranging from the light to the heavy in both flavor and ABV. But the big reason to keep going back is that they always have at least one brewmaster special, but most often 3 or 4 to choose from. You may find a bourbon barrel aged Pullman Brown, a black IPA, and/or an Imperial Stout. Whatever the season, you'll find its beer counterpart at the station.
The food is also a great reason to stop in. They have taken the tradition American pub food, given it a twist and then turned it up a notch. Their menu includes pizza, sandwiches, fajitas, steaks, chicken, fish and a multitude of other lunch or dinner items…they also server breakfast! They have different specials on food and beer throughout the week, so make sure to ask.
Too far from the city for you to drive? Just jump on the Metra and spend an afternoon beer-cationing to Flossmoor, it drops you off on the Station’s doorstep.
reviewed on: 2010-04-19 15:05:41 this review is based off of 10 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 5 | Service: 4.25 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Food: 4.5
bobcat78's (167) view bobcat78's forum profile send bobcat78 a private message Overall Score: 90.0

I was working on the south side of Chicago and read that this place had one an award as the best small microbrewery a few years back. I'd have to say it is well deserved.

They have a few ways to do the sampler, I selected the dark beer version and was in no way disappointed.

Really a nice location, located right off a train track and uses the train station as a theme throughout the decor and beer names.

Pullman Brown was the most memorable to me, but I was not disappointed with anything I tried.

The food was also excellent, with a wide variety of options and far more than normal pub grub.
reviewed on: 2008-09-24 23:33:16 this review is based off of one visit
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 4.5 | Service: 4.5 | Atmosphere: 5 | Food: 4.0
pudgym29's (55) view pudgym29's forum profile send pudgym29 a private message Overall Score: 93.3

Flossmoor Station is the most distinguished brewpub in metropolitan Chicago. It _*won*_ the "Small Brewpub of the Year" honor from the Brewers Association in 2006, eclipsing Stone Brwg. of southern California, Wynkoop Brwg. of Denver, CO., and even New Glarus of Wisconsin.
The beers here have always been solid. In keeping with its location, they are given railroad-themed names.
I was here on Monday, Memorial Day, using the Metra Weekend Pass on its _bonus_ day. I received some very good news the moment I entered here. Not only was the venue open, but regardless that it was a Holiday, it was still a Monday, and "Big Beer Monday" pricing was in effect. This meant I received a 22 oz. pour of most of its beers for the 16 oz. price ($4.00 or $4.25).
Chessie Cherry Wheat Ale = Red amber, cloudy. Balanced taste. Cherry flavor prevails. Very tart and refreshing.
Milky Way Stout = Very dark brown. Opaque. Smooth, creamy roast malt taste. Malt prevails throughout. This was my favorite..
Black Wolf Schwarzbier = Dark red, clear. Roast malt aroma. Balanced taste. Solidly in style.
Gandy Dancer Honey Ale = Hops. Gold. Slightly cloudy. Hops. Hops dominate taste and aftertaste. Did I mention its hops?
Killer Kowalski Baltic Porter = Black. Opaque. Roast malt aroma. High alcohols assail you. They predominate.
This has been on tap for a while, but the bar staff there felt it would not be on much longer (because it is running out).

If you are a member of the American Homebrewers' Association, you receive 20% off the cost of _appetizers_ here.

Transit options: Why are you intent on driving here? What if there is an ice storm making the roads nearly impassible? Look at that map again, ok? That is no illusion. That *is* the Metra Electric main line to University Park. The Flossmoor station is within a stone's {oops} throw from this venue. If you read my review of Mickey Finn's, then you know about the Metra Weekend Pass. It costs only $5.00, people. (It is $4.30 each way at other times.) That's less than you would spend for a bottle of macrobrew at some venues. Trains depart downtown Chicago at Michigan Ave. between Randolph and South Water Sts. There is also a stop at Van Buren & Michigan. On Saturdays, trains are on a one-hour interval. On Sundays (& select Holidays), it is a two-hour interval. The last trains back to Chicago are at 9:52, 10:52, & 11:52 pm [six days a week]; or 8:02, 10:02 pm, & 12:02 am on Sundays.
reviewed on: 2008-06-04 03:46:12 this review is based off of 2 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 4 | Service: 4 | Atmosphere: 4.5 | Food: 4.0
frazbri's (78) view frazbri's forum profile send frazbri a private message Overall Score: 83.3

I've been very pleased with my visits to Flossmoor Station. The old train station is a nice setting for a brewpub, although the multi-level layout isn't as accessible as more modern architecture.

The menu has a wide range of american food. Last trip I ordered a burger with smoked gouda cheese and sauteed mushrooms and a side of potato wedges. It was a filling and tasty meal.

The beer selection looks like a standard brewpub at first glance, but every beer I've had is very well crafted. This is a brewery that's compiled alot of medals for good reason. They make good beer.

reviewed on: 2008-04-27 17:00:04 this review is based off of 2 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 4.5 | Service: 4.5 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Food: 4.25
wbfarr's (38) view wbfarr's forum profile send wbfarr a private message Overall Score: 88.3

Excellent conversion of a railroad station into the pub and restaurant. I'm guessing there are usually 12 of their brews on tap -- 8 regular, plus specials. All I've tried have been good, some are divine. They offer them in 12, 16, and 21 oz. glasses; and the price of a 16 oz. pint is lower than virtually any place in and around Chicago. There's usually a guest tap as well. Comfortable bar, where you can watch trains pull up to the functioning Metra station, or watch the electric model train travel around the track installed by the ceiling. Dining rooms with plenty of natural light. Pretty good food, and a good variety of things to try, from pub food to fancier offerings. Family friendly during daylight hours. A great place.
reviewed on: 2008-04-03 20:55:37 this review is based off of 2 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 4.5 | Service: 4.5 | Atmosphere: 4.5 | Food: 4.5
Evil_Keith's (44) view Evil_Keith's forum profile send Evil_Keith a private message Overall Score: 90.0

I have to admit that if a place is sort of close to where I live that I have a tendency to avoid it. I also finally seem to see it. I live near Three Floyds and Fossmoor is not so far either.
Flossmoor is an incredible place. It was originally built in 1906 as a stop along the railroad. Today it is meticulously restored with an obvious attention to detail. The craftmanship in the restoration is quite obvious.
Fortunitely the craftmanship and attention to detail that went into the beautifully restored site is apparent in the beers being produced here.
I feel foolish for not coming here more often. There are at least 8 regular beers on tap, with seaonal offerings throughout the year. What the hell was I thinking.
On this particular visit I tried the food for the first time. I ordered the Dinner with the grilled portabela mushrooms, grilled boneless chicken breast and melted smoked Gouda cheese. This in it itself should have been a slice of heaven, but this came with a side salad and warm bread with a small bowl of “crack butter”. Crack butter is a whipped bowl of honey butter. Also included were steamed carrots in garlic butter, which was a whole new experience for me.
I am going to make an effort to be here more often. I seem to have forgot what I was missing.
I will be back more often.
reviewed on: 2007-07-22 18:47:12 this review is based off of 2 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 4.25 | Service: 4.25 | Atmosphere: 4.5 | Food: N/A
hugbee's (75) view hugbee's forum profile send hugbee a private message Overall Score: 86.7

I thought, it had been a dogs age since I'd been to flossmoor. And this sunday nite was the time to go, as I work a vampires schedule as of the moment.

arriving at about 8:30 on a sunday is a plus... there's a dinner crowd and a bar crowd, but they peter off quickly...

beer selection is for me the specials of which this trip there was 4, X-ipa was the standout with the black moon a rye-sin being a delicious sidecar of which I partook liberally... of the standards I'll drink 3 of the 7 that are usually on, the pullman brown being my standby... The selection is good, but I say stay away from their fruit beers.... the cherry is not a pleasant beer imo... (sorry brewer a,b) The rest of it from passable to passion, depending on your palate.

again, it's sunday and its SO casual.... I sat at the bar a nice brown (pullman brown in color) bar that sits about 15ish if they are fat, maybe 20 regular sized people..... I sat on the corner of the L that faces the door, so I had a good view of those who came in and those who sat at the bar.... the crowd was eclectic... there was someone filling a titletown growler there this evening, which if you know the history of the brewery, was amusing in it's past tense charm.... Lots of nice earthy colors, with a door, turning right towards the bathroom from my vantage that shows the brass vessels that are used to ferment the fine brews this place serves. The inside of the bar is very train oriented (who'da thought being called flossmoor station) with a model train on tracks that sometimes circles around to make the drunks pull away from their drinking. The dining area in the other chambers of the brewery is not only comfy, but family friendly.... And knowing the kindness that this place shows to homebrew clubs and obnoxious beer websites, no matter the faction. The juke was in full effect this evening and while battling between parliment and kiss and disco biscuits... it wasnt too shabby.

The service called me "sir." The service never left me dry. The service worked the crowd well... You cant ask for better service, unless it's busy and you're a prude... than I'm sure the service sucks....

I didn't have the food this time, but I disagree with beerinator that it's publike... they have a $20 steak on the menu, they have an ask the waiter cut of meat/fish, they have a few more unpublike meals to offer, and their sandwiches and portions are a bit bigger than your standard pub..... just my opinion.



reviewed on: 2007-07-08 23:53:23 this review is based off of 2 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 4.75 | Service: 4.5 | Atmosphere: 4.5 | Food: 4.5
beerinator's (126) view beerinator's forum profile send beerinator a private message Overall Score: 91.7

Flossmoor Station won a well deserved brewpub of the year GABF award during 2006. There are usually 6 or 7 "regular beers" (edit: I was informed by someone in a position of power at Flossmoor that they have 8 year round beers; dubbed "The Great 8") and 3 or 4 specialties/seasonals available on tap.

The Pullman Brown, which seems to stay on tap at a fairly consistent basis, is a super solid beer that is easily one of my favorite Flossmoor products. The brewers at Flossmoor also do not shy away from the hops in their IPAs, so check one of those out if you can.

The food menu at Flossmoor is a bit pub-like, with a few Comfort Food entries, but there are definitely some interesting food items available. I would say the menu is much more creative than most pub-fare brewpubs.

The service I've experienced here has thus far always been good. I usually end up sitting at or near the bar, but there is a big dining room for families or larger groups.

Flossmoor usually had plenty of parking, and the brewpub is practically inside the Flossmoor Station on the Metra Electric Line from Chicago.
reviewed on: 2007-03-12 09:55:25 this review is based off of 10 or more visits