Elysian Brewing Company     see this location on a map


show map and other infosee images
Show list of all locations within a 1 | 5 | 10 | 15 | 20 | 25 | 50 mile radius                                        Post to Twitter
official site elysianbrewing.com/

Elysian Brewing Company
1221 E Pike St
Seattle, WA 98122
(206) 860-1920

latitude: 47.614220
longitude: -122.316475
City Information Page Seattle Information Page
Printer Friendly View

overall average: 82.29


this location does not have wifi availableWifi Available | this location has cask availableCask Beer | this location does not allow indoor smokingIndoor Smoking | this location has adequate parkingAvailable Parking
this location is close to public transportationPublic Transit | this location uses proper glasswareProper Glassware | this location does not have outdoor seatingOutdoor Seating | this location is family friendlyFamily Friendly
Value: Moderate
Averaged from 8 reviews.

get an informational widget for your blog or site get a map for your blog or site
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 5 | Service: 4.5 | Atmosphere: 4.5 | Food: 4.0
dorandbob's (271) view dorandbob's forum profile send dorandbob a private message Overall Score: 93.3 this is the high score for this location

Very bright space with many windows on two sides. There’s a tall ceiling with exposed ducts and a fascinating ceiling that looks like the sides of 2x4’s. The floor is concrete and the tables and chairs are wood. The bar itself is a lovely piece of wood with three sides. Around the bar and on a lower level is more dining seating. In the far back on the lower level you can see the brewery behind glass windows (quite fun when you’re sitting nearby and they hose it down!).

The atmosphere is lively, inviting, and casual - comfortable during quiet times and very young and “happening” when busy.

The beer selection is mostly brewed here but there are generally a few alternates such as a Belgian beer or two. And the beer is good and innovative.

The food is fairly traditional (fries are prominent) but still good and with some innovative choices (e.g., corn cakes made from fresh corn).
reviewed on: 2009-05-19 23:32:44 this review is based off of 2 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 4.75 | Service: 4.75 | Atmosphere: 4.5 | Food: 4.5
Rocks2GW's (47) view Rocks2GW's forum profile send Rocks2GW a private message Overall Score: 93.3

Cool place, 1 of 3 in area I believe. Had 12 house beers on tap, including 2 barley wines & a cask cond. IPA, but was told they run up to 16 usually. They also had 5 locals on tap as well. Any place that has 3+ IPAs on tap at any one time rocks, hands down.

I had the seasonal-Bifrost, Dragon's Tooth Stout, Immortal IPA, The Wise ESB, Perseus Porter, Zephyrus Pilsner, & Avatar Jasmine IPA. All very well done, but I went back for a pint of the Avatar, amazingly refreshing & hoppy. To be honest, I could of had a pint of any one of the ales I tasted.

I also had the maui maui fish tacos which were great. I sat at the bar for lunch & the service was prompt, courteous, & funny as crap. Don't know if the other locations are as cool, but this one is worth the trip by far.
reviewed on: 2010-05-19 17:53:06 this review is based off of one visit
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 4.75 | Service: 4.75 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Food: N/A
bobcat78's (167) view bobcat78's forum profile send bobcat78 a private message Overall Score: 91.7

I visited both the Pike St location and the location near Safeco Field. After reading a lot about this place on GABF, I was very excited to try their beer and was certainly not disappointed. They offered two different samplers, one for dark beers and one for IPAs/lighter beer. Both included a number of brewery only selections including a stout that was very good, although the Dragonstout was slightly better. Persesus porter was also quite tasty. The surprise was Jasmine IPA, very drinkable IPA.

The location on Pike is a bit of a trek from downtown Seattle. Food was decent, it is definitely a place more akin to Pacific Northwest appetites favoring vegetarian type selections.

The location near Safeco is a huge bar, I went after a Mariners game, it wasn't overly crowded. The bartenders were quiet helpful in providing information about the diverse beer selection.
reviewed on: 2008-09-24 19:18:57 this review is based off of one visit
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Selection: 5 | Service: 4.25 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Food: N/A
Beer Traveler's (93) view Beer Traveler's forum profile send Beer Traveler a private message Overall Score: 90.0

We visited on a recent Tuesday afternoon around 4 pm. There were several people enjoying an early happy hour. We sat at the bar and ordered two pick-your-own samplers; each was 5 beers for $6.50. There are 14 Elysian beers on tap with 2 additional guest taps available. Cask ale once a week is on tap for happy hour. They also have kegs though I didn’t see growlers and forgot to ask. Not all the beers are brewed here, some are brewed at one of their two other locations. They have a 20 barrel system here, smaller systems at their other locations. All the beers we sampled were excellent. Parking is on the street and is free, with a two hour limit. There was plenty of parking when we were there. No smoking here.
reviewed on: 2011-04-13 21:04:30 this review is based off of one visit
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Selection: 5 | Service: 4 | Atmosphere: 4.5 | Food: 3.5
jdpils's (2) view jdpils's forum profile send jdpils a private message Overall Score: 90.0
this user does not have enough reviews for this score to count

THis is the first stop for any beer enthusiast. It has been my #1 recommended brew pub for over 15 years. The beer is great and the selection outstanding. Good pub food with some creative offerings. Never had any service issues as mentioned above. One of the most creative set of brewer's and every beer is well made. The Wise, Dragons' Tooth Stout are my favorites. I wish they would open a pub on the Eastside
reviewed on: 2012-11-23 14:22:59 this review is based off of 10 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Selection: 4.5 | Service: 4 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Food: N/A
miori1230's (171) view miori1230's forum profile send miori1230 a private message Overall Score: 85.0

When you walk into Elysian you get a cool industrial feel which works well in a brewpub. I had a beer sampler and the options were a solid range from lighter to dark. There were 5 samples included - a Pilsner, Stout, Porter, and a couple IPAs. The beers were all very tasty and well worth the trip.

The atmosphere at Elysian was one with a nice vibe. There was a good crowd, but I didn't feel like it was crowded, and the servers were easily able to keep up with the demand.
reviewed on: 2013-01-06 21:07:24 this review is based off of one visit
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Selection: 4.5 | Service: 4.75 | Atmosphere: 3.25 | Food: 3.25
JasonBennett's (2) view JasonBennett's forum profile send JasonBennett a private message Overall Score: 83.3
this user does not have enough reviews for this score to count

The best of any reason to attend one of the three Elysian brew pubs is that the full Elysian line of beers is available. I could go on and on about their fries, but the beer is what makes this place special. I'm a NW hophead convert, so their ample selection of IPAs and seasonals like the Jasmine and Bifrost keep me watching the grocery store and website what they'll come up with next.
reviewed on: 2007-12-11 01:49:05 this review is based off of 2 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Selection: 5 | Service: 3.25 | Atmosphere: 4 | Food: 4.25
Curmudgeon's (183) view Curmudgeon's forum profile send Curmudgeon a private message Overall Score: 81.7

A rich history has Elysian Fields.

The owners could easily wax poetic about their long tradition of brewing dates back to the 17th century when some great grand-forebearer smuggled hops & malts on the long journey to the new world. How each successive family traveler managed to bring a new piece of brewing equipment (tanks, silos, etc.) until ultimately, the brewhouse was complete. Of course all of it would be a complete lie.

Named for the home of the "blessed" after death -- or the hallowed place in New York where the first ever baseball was played, Elysian Fields has not one but three locations in the greater Seattle area in which to "play"...and that's no lie.

The menu is excellent featuring different and varied items for both vegetarian and carnivores including red pepper chowder, vegan avocado curry & pulled pork tacos.

But of course the beer is what we come for, isn't it?
And Elysian does not disappoint. Something for everyone here from Prometheus & Immortal IPA's (both above 5% ABV) to the Zephyrus Pilsner, Dragonstooth Stout and Perseus Porter ( do you see a theme here?) these beers are all full of flavor and personality. Fortunately for those of us who call the Pacific NW home, Elysian makes many beers available in local supermarkets so there's never a time when our tastes aren't satisfied. Especially around Fall when the brewery (named 2004's best large brewpub at the Great American Beer Festival) puts on a community show and tell to produce their pumpkin ales. Many gather to carve out those poor, defenseless little punkins for the greater good -- i.e., beer. I've tried almost 2 dozen pumpkin ales but Elysian's is by far the best.

And if that doesn't make you want to swing for the fences (and I can't imagine why not?) Elysian also carries a wide variety of bottled beers both domestic & imported.

So grab your most casual toga -- or baseball jersey, whichever era you wish to acknowledge & find Elysian Fields when you're in town.

Batter up, forsooth!
reviewed on: 2008-02-22 13:09:26 this review is based off of 2 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 4.25 | Service: 1.75 | Atmosphere: 4 | Food: 3.5
BrewDad's (256) view BrewDad's forum profile send BrewDad a private message Overall Score: 66.7

Well this was the place to stop so they say. Was there for the AHA rally had some nice beers but the service was less than what one would like. I realize it is hard to get great help but for a great brewery they should hire better the service sucked. The bartenders where not very nice and seemed not to care. The place was the typical brewpub. They have some awesome festivals at this pub and the Great Pumpkin festival is a blast.
reviewed on: 2008-09-10 14:15:22 this review is based off of 2 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Selection: 3.5 | Service: 2 | Atmosphere: 3 | Food: 1.5
BNArmyEB's (21) view BNArmyEB's forum profile send BNArmyEB a private message Overall Score: 56.7 this is the low score for this location

It's taken me a good long while to really piece together in my head how to describe my feelings on Elysian. What it comes down to is that the place is just not for me. But in reality, they're a fantastic brewery, and an important staple in the Seattle craft beer scene.

The beer really is of a very high caliber. It's always clean, and crafted to the highest quality. But in the long line of Elysian beers I've had over the years, only a few stand out as being something I truly enjoyed; The ESB, Jasmine IPA, Night Owl Pumpkin (actually brewed by New Belgium, whom they are partnered with from what I understand), and the Loki Lager (which seems to be hard to come across). But don't let my lack of enthusiasm for most of their offerings deter you, they have a very, very long list of beers in constant rotation. I don't believe there is another brewery in the area that has the variety Elysian has.

For those of you who are wanting to try the beer with dinner at the pub, you might want to reconsider. Quite simply, the food is not that awesome. If I were to suggest anything, it'd be to stick with munching on some appetizers while you enjoy your brews. The food simply does not compare to the quality cuisines at some of our other brewing establishments.

If at first you don't like Elysian, try try again. The variety is vast, and there's something for everyone. Pleasing every beer lover is not an easy feat, but with the wide selection, you'll find something, I'm sure of it.
reviewed on: 2009-08-18 19:09:21 this review is based off of 2 or more visits