Boulder Beer / Wilderness Pub     see this location on a map


show map and other infosee images
Show list of all locations within a 1 | 5 | 10 | 15 | 20 | 25 | 50 mile radius                                        Post to Twitter
official site boulderbeer.com/

Boulder Beer / Wilderness Pub
2880 Wilderness Place
Boulder, CO 80301
(303) 444-8448

latitude: 40.026093
longitude: -105.248146
City Information Page Boulder/Denver Information Page
Printer Friendly View

overall average: 91.67


this location has wifi availableWifi Available | this location has cask availableCask Beer | this location does not allow indoor smokingIndoor Smoking | this location has adequate parkingAvailable Parking
this location is not close to public transportationPublic Transit | this location uses proper glasswareProper Glassware | this location has outdoor seatingOutdoor Seating | this location offers toursTours Available
Value: Moderate
Averaged from 9 reviews.

get an informational widget for your blog or site get a map for your blog or site
collapse review link to this review link to review
Selection: 5 | Service: 4.5 | Atmosphere: 4.25 | Food: 4.25
Beer Traveler's (91) view Beer Traveler's forum profile send Beer Traveler a private message Overall Score: 91.7

We visited mid afternoon on a Friday during GABF. The crowd wasn’t too bad. It was late enough in the day that folks had probably already headed out for GABF. I’ve been here before and warned the ladies not to order the sampler. Of course they did anyway and 13 beers showed up on a tray. All of this after we had visited Avery and Twisted Pine earlier in the day. Still we powered through the beers. All were great except for perhaps the Sweaty Betty Blonde. We also ordered some food to go with all the beer. They have typical pub food but everything we had came out quick, was hot, and tasted good. There is plenty of parking around the brewpub.
reviewed on: 2011-10-09 14:56:17 this review is based off of 2 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Selection: 4.75 | Service: 5 | Atmosphere: 5 | Food: N/A
StinkyDiver's (26) view StinkyDiver's forum profile send StinkyDiver a private message Overall Score: 98.3

The best brewery tour I've been on ever, and a great stop for great beer in a town full of great beer.

Let me start by raving about the tour. They give them every week day at 2, I believe. The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly. They'll let you taste some of the malts, take you through the brew house, the bottling line, and the large refrigerator where they store stuff that's ready to be shipped. At the end of the tour, you're taken to the event room, where they have everything they have on tap that day in pitchers, waiting to be drank. For free. They also handed out bottle openers, and stickers. Truly awesome. You can tell they care a lot about their customers, and they definitely won more of my business.

Their beer selection at the tap room is also excellent. They have all of their usual, year round offerings, plus some one offs. I had their double IPA brewed with apricots last time I was there, and it was definitely unique. The beers might not be as universally outstanding as some of the other breweries in town, but the atmosphere is great, the tour is wonderful, and it's definitely worth a stop if you happen to be in Boulder.
reviewed on: 2011-05-09 16:57:41 this review is based off of one visit
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 4.5 | Service: 4 | Atmosphere: 4 | Food: 3.5
mr brownstone's (30) view mr brownstone's forum profile send mr brownstone a private message Overall Score: 83.3

this place isnt open on saturday so ive only been there once. its not a bad place at all, the problem is it has a lot of top notch competetion in boulder. they have a lot of beers but their traditional brews are boring. the looking glass series beers are good. the food was good bar food. i found the portions to be large. there was a good crowd there but it wasnt packed. i ll be back im sure but i ll hit some other places first
reviewed on: 2011-01-08 22:12:53 this review is based off of one visit
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Selection: 4 | Service: 4 | Atmosphere: 4 | Food: 3.5
joelambic's (46) view joelambic's forum profile send joelambic a private message Overall Score: 80.0 this is the low score for this location

I stopped in while in the Denver/Boulder area during American Craft Beer Week. The bar wasn't that busy but it was a little early for happy hour and the weather was so nice most people were sitting outside. The tap list was quite extensive. Most of the beers I tried were spot on; only one had a touch of butterscotch. Not sure if it's normal for that one (don't remember which) or was a one-off issue. The food was typical pub food; nothing fancy but enjoyable. The location has plenty of parking but is in an out of the way area so does take some determination to find since it's unlikely you'd be wandering past.
reviewed on: 2010-01-06 00:45:56 this review is based off of 2 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Click to view list of reviews locations for this user
Selection: 5 | Service: 4.5 | Atmosphere: 4.5 | Food: N/A
bobcat78's (167) view bobcat78's forum profile send bobcat78 a private message Overall Score: 93.3

I went to Boulder during GABF week, so I am not sure if the size of the beer menu was unusual, but they have that many taps, so I assume it is usually that big. The sampler was impressive, 13 beers for $11 at 4 oz samples. It had quite a bit of variety including a 3 beer flight for a pale ale including normal brewing, nitro and cask. Also offered a number of special small batch varieties including a rye ale. Also had their big hitters including Mojo, Hazed and Confused and Porter.

Food menu was fairly typical for brewpub. Waitress was knowledgeable about the beer selection, overall, a very good experience.
reviewed on: 2009-09-26 10:43:43 this review is based off of one visit
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Selection: 4 | Service: 4 | Atmosphere: 4.5 | Food: 3.5
JayHawkThunder's (9) view JayHawkThunder's forum profile send JayHawkThunder a private message Overall Score: 83.3

A brewpub that's not open on Saturday? Say it isn't so. But it's true, Monday through Friday only at Boulder Brewery.
Nice atmosphere - relaxing interior and a beer garden/patio out back.
Wide selection of beers, but nothing stands out. They are all about average (which does not mean they are bad, just average).
The food is typical pub grub, absolutely nothing special here either. But, judging by the prices, they sure are proud of their food.
All in all, not a bad place to spend some time if there were not so many better brewpubs in the area.
reviewed on: 2008-09-10 22:07:00 this review is based off of one visit
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Selection: 5 | Service: 5 | Atmosphere: 5 | Food: 4.75
Beer Brian's (20) view Beer Brian's forum profile send Beer Brian a private message Overall Score: 100.0 this is the high score for this location

Very popular brewpub in Boulder - for good reason. Good beers with good selection and good food as well.

The place is located in an office/industrial area, so it's a bit off the usual restaurant scene. Also, they really like their hops while I prefer a maltier brew. But other than these two minor quibbles, there's really nothing bad I can say about them.

Food is pretty typical pub fare: sandwiches and the like, solid and not pretentious, goes well with the beer. They have several rooms so a group can have some privacy with advance planning.
reviewed on: 2008-06-27 10:27:24 this review is based off of 2 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Selection: 5 | Service: 5 | Atmosphere: 5 | Food: 4.0
twyninstr's (3) view twyninstr's forum profile send twyninstr a private message Overall Score: 100.0

The Wilderness Pub is a nice place to have one of Boulder Beer's brews. Visit on Wednesday's nights and you can participate in a trivia contest to win a case of their beer or $25 off your tab. Best to bring some friends as the questions can be challenging. The walls of the pub are adorned with numerous awards for their beers. Beers to try include their Hazed & Infused, Mojo, and Mojo Rising. In the summer months, there is a great outdoor patio out back with views of Boulder's Flatirons.
reviewed on: 2008-02-15 13:35:38 this review is based off of 10 or more visits
 
collapse review link to this review link to review
Selection: 5 | Service: 4.75 | Atmosphere: 4.5 | Food: 4.25
de-brew's (16) view de-brew's forum profile send de-brew a private message Overall Score: 95.0

boulder beer was more brewpub than actual brewery when i went in early aug 2007. got a dirty look from the brewer when i was pressing my nose against the glass while he was brewing. food was ok, but a little pricey, depending on where you're from. the sampler wasn't free, but was well worth the dough (i think around $10 for tasting all of their beers). these guys definitely had a bunch of beers to choose from on their sampler, so make sure you eat a hefty lunch. they had an amazing barleywine when i was there. close enough to the other breweries in boulder that you don't have an excuse not to go.
reviewed on: 2007-09-27 22:41:24 this review is based off of one visit